What’s in a name ?

So I’ll explain where my favorite internet handle came from. It’s actually a mix of two of my favorite literary stories from high school.

Ravin;
comes from my absolute love of Edgar Alan Poe! In middle school I checked out a book of scary stories from the library since the Goosebumps books were “Cool”. In the collection of scary stories was Poe’s “The black cat” I absolutely loved it!!!!! Then in school we read the “tell tale heart” “the cask of amontillado” and then “The Raven”. That same year The Simpsons did a Halloween episode of “the Raven” and I was absolutely hooked!!! I wanted to express my love of Edgar Alan Poe writing and chose to go with Raven but I wanted to make it a little bit more feminine so I changed the “e” into and “i” and started using Ravin.

20140604-105819-39499167.jpg
http://crisvector.deviantart.com/art/Edgar-Allan-Poe-214659580

Isis;
Then I fell in love with Egyptian mythology! I absolutely fell in love with the disastrous love story of Isis and Osiris. So I started adding Isis to my online handle as the internet became more popular.

20140604-110251-39771704.jpg

Now mind you this was 1995 to 1999 when I came up with them and am pleasantly surprised that I still love them.

Leave a Reply

